2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 4×4 Review

MPGomatic.com puts a 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 4×4 to a grueling test drive in search of maximum MPGs. -] Full Review: www.mpgomatic.com [-

, , , , , , ,

25 Responses to 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 4×4 Review

  1. Nytherr February 16, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    That’s it I’m signing and I’ll head out to the Jeep dealership as soon as possible and get one. HIT THE GAS CLETUS, YEEEEEEHAWWWW!

  2. steadylang101 February 22, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    just giving real stats/ here in Qatar Jeep particularly the wrangler has the most number of roll over accidents and yes we do have alot of roundabouts here not hating the vehicle at all its just maybe stats do matter for safety.

  3. SpetsnazMax February 22, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    I bought an 08 Wrangler Unlimited Sport last month (4-door), and loving it. the smooth drive, stylish and off-road experience is incredible with roof off. I had a Nissan Patrol and Toyota Prado, but none of those beat this beat…GO Wrangler…and yes, manual all the way, why would you buy a serious off-roader in auto…

  4. scotsmaninusa March 28, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    just got rid of mine,it was shite.it had a Dana on the back as I took the towing package but cheapskate chrysler left their shitty axle on the front.I ended up bending 3 of em and was on my fourth.I then read the 2012 sahara would have dana’s front and rear so sold mine and I’ll wait for the new one.if you want to seriously off road I’d wait for the 2012 .

  5. JayGeePee1 March 31, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    Chrysler is talking about putting a Hemi in the new Wranglers

  6. counkev March 31, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    No locking differential?

  7. juliadennehy April 4, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    Anyone else find their Unlimited’s engine ‘working overtime’ to keep speed going up hills? On highway my cruise keeps downshifting 2 gears to go up small grades…

  8. Jesus45U April 6, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    @steadylang101 Interestingly, sometimes a car can have bad accidents statistics because of it’s buyers. Drunken hillbillies like pickups and jeeps. And guess what they often do while drunk ?

    Yuup.

    Ditch their cars while having a bit of fun.

  9. guyNbluejeans April 8, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    This fellow knows how to give a great review.

  10. guyNbluejeans April 10, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    @scotsmaninusa Will one have to actually wait until 2012 to get one or will they be out sooner? Thanks!

  11. scotsmaninusa April 11, 2011 at 6:10 am #

    @guyNbluejeans supposed to be july onwards but seeing as the 300c was supposed to be out 2 month ago who knows.chrysler doesn’t seem to be able to meet deadlines anymore?????

  12. guyNbluejeans April 11, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    @scotsmaninusa Thanks! I must confess I’m getting cold feet at the moment because fuel keeps going up and many are saying we could easily see $5 a gallon soon.:-(

  13. BSDeez16 April 14, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    @counkev The Rubicon model comes with locking differentials.

  14. BSDeez16 April 14, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    @scotsmaninusa My 08 Sahara has a Dana 30 in the front and Dana 44 in the rear.

  15. BSDeez16 April 14, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    @scotsmaninusa Or get a Rubicon…they have the Dana 44 in the front and rear.

  16. scotsmaninusa April 14, 2011 at 4:57 am #

    @BSDeez16 yeah I hear ya but I liked the color coded fenders at the time so got the Sahara.I’d rather wait for the new pentastar engine now as 17 mpg was a bit hard to live with as well

    cheers

  17. cjj822000 April 26, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    i know someone who was a 2009 jeep wrangler x 4×4

  18. lpmoora April 29, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    This is going to be my second beast in my garage. My Mustang with the Wrangler Unlimited next to it.That will be day. For gas mileage, if Jeep puts in those newly developed 8 speeds and the 3.6 liter Pentastar engine, wow it could get excellent gas mileage.However, I am perfectly fine with having a less efficent engne for a very reliable one right now. My 4.0 Mustang is not up to par with it’s engine size, but it is time tested. I know the 4.0 from Chrysler’s are built tough too.

  19. ed0985587 May 3, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    0-60 in 10 seconds? that’s what’s holding me back from buying a wrangler….holding out for the pentastar which should be a much better suited engine in 2012.

  20. boardsk8tr May 25, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    how much they cost

  21. Sept0pus June 5, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    The Jeep website says it seats 6, but there is on 5 seats

  22. hehh543 June 17, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    a CVT was need during the 0-60 lol.

  23. bigbradford69 June 19, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    15/19 is fucking awful

  24. divisioneight June 20, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    Put a diesel in it, and I’m off to my Jeep dealer to swap my Commander for this one – maybe! 😉

  25. NattDogg01 July 5, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    @mpgomatic My step dad has the 6-speed Manual transmission and the ratios in all the gears are very high. I have found myself actually coming down to first gear to keep from stalling it on some inclines. As far as gas mileage goes. We get close to 17 MPG combined. I personally would prefer the Automatic gearbox.